¡Bebidas!

1. Nica Libre/Cuba Libre. This drink is for all you rum and coke lovers. It is rum and coke with lime. I guess a real Cuba Libre should be made with cuban rum, but I am pretty sure that everything here in Nicaragua is made with Flor de Caña, which is the very popular Nicaraguan Rum. One of the girls who works at our hotel in Laguna de Apoyo said that the difference is the color of the rum. Cuba Libre is made with light rum and Nica Libre is made dark rum.

2. Caipiriña. This drink is great if you’re craving something lemony. While this traditional drink is made in Brazil with “cachaça”, a distillation of fermented sugar cane juice, I am fairly certain that it is made with white Flor de Caña rum. And of course there is sugar and lemons. Although according to some websites it is limes. I really don’t know. Please see my future blog post on citrus in Nicaragua…

3. Macuá. From the second I first tasted this drink I said it was a dangerous one. It tastes like the most delicious nectar you have ever had. Is there even any alcohol? Hard to tell. It is a mix of lemon juice, orange juice, guava nectar and white Flor de Caña rum.

4. Toña. Toña is one of the two beers available here in Nicaragua. The other is Victoria. Toña, however, tastes the least like the beer that Chris normally drinks, which is why it is the one that I order. Yes, it is official. In Nicaragua, I am a beer drinker. That will only last until my feet touch American soil, but I must admit that it is refreshing in the heat down here.

A few side notes…

There is not a huge variety of beer or liquor available here. (Perhaps in a more expensive store in a bigger city, but I have not personally come across any like that.) The good news is, Flor de Caña is delicious and I don’t mind Toña. Being an IPA drinker, I think Chris would probably quickly get sick of the beer here, but when we went to the Garden Café in Granada they recommended him a dark craft brew that was actually pretty good. Tasted kind of chocolaty. (Can any of you even believe that I’m saying this? I can’t!)

A second note is the price of drinks here. I am not sure how much I have talked about the prices here, but by American standards they are cheap. It does depend on the place and I realize as a tourist I am probably paying more than the locals would be for some things, but I cannot complain about the prices. The cocktails where we are staying now are about $2.50 a piece. A Toña typically goes for $1.00-$1.20 depending on the place. And that craft brew that Chris got in Granada was only $2.00. If you thought I was a cheap date in the states, I’m an even cheaper date in Nicaragua…

And did I mention that you must be 18 or older to enjoy these fantastic drinks in Nicaragua? Seems like spring-breakers of all ages would get so much more bang for their buck here…

Leave a Reply

