Presidencial Palace

I wandered around Santiago by myself on two differnet days – without a map. That was an adventure to say the least. I went to see the presidencial palace, which surprisingly I found with little trouble. I guess I happened to pick the right direction to start walking in after getting off the metro.

The thing that surprised me the most was not the number of police that were walking around (a ton!) but that they were stopping to pose in tourist pictures – and smiling! I didn’t ask one for a picture, but I thought it was interesting, because I somehow don’t see this happening outside of the White House.

This is one of the pictures that is kind of ruined by the sun. Too much sun in the winter?!? Who would have thought! On the other side of the street was a huge Chilean flag.

This is what it looks like when it isn’t so windy.

Leave a Reply

