The Fauna – Part II

So, as I mentioned before, the dogs living on the street break my heart. Although there is some small part of me that is always excited to see the dogs while I’m walking around. I joke that they’re my friends. But, there are certain neighborhoods – like one spot in Valparaíso – where the dogs are really just a hot mess. They are dirty and matted and look starved for both food and attention.

Once in awhile, however, you just have to laugh. On our way to La Campana we saw this dog. We checked to see if he was dead because that is what it looked like at first. Nope. Perfectly alive. He was sleeping in the middle of the sidewalk like this. How can anyone sleep in that position?!?!

I’ve heard that the Chilean government has offered to take all of the dogs and kill them to eliminate the problem. Apparently the Chileans strongly object. However, there are people who put the puppies out on the street when their dog gets pregnant. I don’t think there is a good system for spaying and neutering dogs here and it is a real shame. And on top of it, there isn’t really a penalty for putting dogs out on the street. The Chileans don’t want the dogs to be put down, but there is really no one to take care of them. Pobrecitos. I’ll just have to adopt them all.

Leave a comment