The Citrus Mystery

Let’s talk about citrus fruits down here in Nicaragua. Aside from all the tropical fruits that I can barely identify sometimes, I am having a really hard time with the citrus. You would think it is pretty simple right? Lime, lemon, orange, grapefruit. If only it were that simple.

What is this?

green orange tree

 

It is an orange! They taste exactly the same, but the peel is quite deceptive if you ask me.

julie-seville-orange-seeds-7162

And take a look at these two Google searches below.

Google Nicaragua search for limes (lima fruta not to be confused with Lima the city).

Google Nicaragua search for lemon (limón). 

Confused? Yeah. Me too. Somewhere in Mérida I asked for “lima” and I was told they didn’t have any, only “limón”, and then they brought me a lime. It seems that there is no distinction here, or that there is really nothing that looks as yellow as what we know to be lemons in the states. I am not sure which. I have given up trying to figure it out.

And as for the oranges, I had some that looked a little bit closer to what we think of as oranges, although the peels were more yellowish and speckled brown. They were not really very good. They were kind of dried out and had a lot of pith. The ones that I have tasted that are green are much juicier. I am not sure if they are just at their peak when they are green or what. Again, I have accepted the state of citrus fruit as the mystery that it is.

If there is anyone who is from/has lived in Nicaragua who has figured it out, I’d love to hear what is really going on!

*The pictures on this page were gratefully borrowed from the internet.

Leave a Reply

